Jordan

 

jordan 1

 

“I’m from California. In the States there is a lot of good people and lot of good things happening but there is still a lot of room to grow and get better.
I think it’s easier in a more “developing” country like here to do something different and new.
I wanted to live somewhere where I could grow my own food and be self sustainable as much as possible.

It’s been about six years since I first started travelling. I travelled through central america mostly.
I was 17 when I came to Nicaragua for the first time and then I came back when I was 19 and that’s when I found this place and everything started.

I came mostly to surf and to look for land to possibly farm. I studied permaculture and organic agriculture -sustainable stuff.
I met Ernesto when I come to Salinas Grandes. He was renting a room to get some money… there wasn’t much… he had the idea of doing a Hostel and I thought it was a good idea, so he said, “if you build it half is yours”.
So I built the kitchen, toilet, some more rooms… and turned it more into a hostel.

It’s been three years and now I just got my little piece of land so I’m excited to start doing what I really came here to do”.

 

*

 

“Soy de California. Creo que en Estados Unidos hay mucha buena gente y una cantidad de cosas buenas sucediendo pero aún hay mucho lugar para crecer y mejorar.
Igualmente creo que es más fácil hacer cosas nuevas y diferentes en un país que se está desarrollando como lo es Nicaragua.

Hace seis años desde que comencé a viajar. Más que nada viajé por centroamérica.
Vine a Nicaragua por primera vez cuando tenía 17, luego volví a los 19 y fue ahí cuando todo comenzó.

Estudié permacultura y agricultura orgánica, cosas sustentables. Vine a Nicaragua más que nada a surfar y a buscar un poco de tierra para posiblemente trabajar.
Conocí a Ernesto cuando vine a Salinas Grandes. El estaba alquilando un cuarto en su casa para hacer un poco de dinero…su casa era bastante pequeña y no había mucho más que un par de piezas… Ernesto tenía la idea de hacer un hostel y a mí me pareció una buena idea así que me dijo, “si lo construyes la mitad es tuyo”.
Así que construí la cocina, el baño y unos cuartos mas y lo convertimos más en un hostel.

Ya hace tres años desde que llegué y ahora tengo un pedacito de tierra, estoy muy emocionado de comenzar a hacer lo que realmente vine a hacer.”

 

jordan2

 

 

Leave a comment